Why I Need a Higher Purpose than Pleasure

I’m not an ascetic. I enjoy an expensive steak, a sparkly piece of jewelry, and an intimate moment with my husband as much as the next gal.

I do, however, abstain from a number of foods that many people find pleasurable. Chocolate, for instance. Spaghetti. A nice bottle of wine.

A lot of people in my life don’t get it. “Everything in moderation,” they say, shaking their heads, incredulous that I haven’t allowed myself the “pleasure” of eating these foods in more than 11 years.

They don’t understand that, for me, although the actual act of tasting the food might give me pleasure, it’s the same kind of pleasure a heroin addict feels as she pushes a needle into her vein.

*****

In the past, I prized comfort over just about anything else. Because of this, my life got very small. It was uncomfortable to go out into the world and interact with other people, but it was comfortable to sit in front of the TV and eat candy bars all day.

I didn’t like feeling awkward or self-conscious or ugly (which was how I always felt around other people), so I avoided those feelings by indulging in easy, pleasurable pastimes like reading, watching TV, and eating. Funny thing was, though, that although these pursuits made me feel good in the moment, in the long run, they left me empty, unsatisfied, and unfulfilled.

I suppose, in a way, I was a hedonist without really knowing it. (Merriam-Webster defines hedonism as “the doctrine that pleasure or happiness is the sole or chief good in life.”) I didn’t really have a higher purpose than to make myself feel good. This, in turn, filled me with a gnawing sense of existential angst. “What’s the point?” I’d wonder. “We’re here, we die, who cares?”

I was depressed, and the “pleasures” of isolation and bingeing were the only things that seemed to relieve my depression. Again, though, they only worked for a very short period of time, and then they’d compound my depression by adding guilt and self-disgust on top of all the existential crap I was already feeling.

It was a vicious, insidious little circle.

When I joined my Twelve Step program, I gained a purpose. Suddenly, my life wasn’t all about making myself comfortable, it was about helping other people who were struggling with similar issues with food.

And having an unselfish reason for being on the planet gave me the strength to stop engaging in behaviors that felt good in the moment but only hurt me in the long term. It gave me the gift of self-restraint.

*****

In THE WAY OF THE LEADER, Donald Krause writes about the importance of self-discipline and self-restraint:

Self-discipline, at the most personal level, means that you do not attempt to deceive yourself. Always be careful what you think and do, but be particularly careful when you believe you are alone. Practice self-restraint in your private life. Remember a person’s opinion of himself eventually shows in his face and is reflected in his outward behavior. A true leader exercises self-discipline through controlling his thoughts and actions even when he believes that no one else can see him.

Many people who’ve suffered from eating disorders can learn how to eat in moderation. My mom did. My sister did. But I can’t. I tried and tried for years. I don’t deceive myself anymore into believing that one bite of cake will be one bite; I know that, for me, one bite inevitably leads to one thousand.

Today, what I do with my food in private is the same as what I do with my food in public (weighed and measured meals, no flour, no sugar). Because I don’t binge, I don’t have to sit in bathroom stalls hiding my binges anymore. I cannot tell you how much more self-confidence, self-esteem, and self-respect I have as a result.

Oddly enough, as my self-esteem improved, I stopped feeling awkward, self-conscious, and ugly around other people, and it became much easier for me to be out in the world. Not only do I not need to fall back on the “pleasures” of sitting in front of the TV eating ice cream all day, I don’t even want to isolate myself and eat until I can’t think straight.

It’s a gift I didn’t expect when I first joined my program. I knew I’d lose weight, I knew I’d stop purging, but I never thought I’d lose the desire to eat and eat and eat. The freedom I have from food is incredible, and it allows me to focus on more interesting, more productive, and more service-oriented areas of my life.

*****

When my husband got sick, the easy, comfortable thing to do would have been to leave him. A lot of people whose spouses are suddenly struck with severe mental illness do just that. After all, it’s certainly not pleasant or pleasurable to nurse someone through mania, psychosis, and depression.

Again, though, it comes back to the question of feeling good in the moment vs. feeling good about who you are as a person in the long term.

Pleasure is awesome, but it’s incidental. For me, true happiness comes not from seeking out an endless string of pleasures, but from growing, from learning, and from striving to serve other people whenever I can.

This post is part of the Self-Discovery, Word by Word blogging series for February.

7 Responses to Why I Need a Higher Purpose than Pleasure

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Wow. Someday, I hope to arrive at the place you are at with my eating.

    I’ve tried a 12 step programs for food addiction (OA) but it really frustrated me.

    Thank you for this post, I’ll have to read it again soon,
    Elizabeth

    • Hi Elizabeth, I definitely, definitely, DEFINITELY didn’t get freedom from the cravings and obsessive food thoughts overnight. It took months for the cravings to die down, but when they did, I was astounded. The difficultly of the first few months without flour and sugar were totally worth it once that neutrality kicked in.

      I’m sorry you had a bad experience with OA. I didn’t particularly care for that program, either — it didn’t have enough structure for me. Best wishes in finding a solution that works for you!

  2. [...] Heather @ Jumbling Towers: Why I Need a Higher Purpose Than Pleasure [...]

  3. Lyz says:

    Someone told me that pleasure was a byproduct of living a fulfilling life (pain and happiness and all) and not an end in and of itself. I think about that all the time. I think she was right.

  4. nichole says:

    That was an inspiring beautiful article. I just stumbled upon it and wow am I glad I did. Congrats to you for figuring out how to live right and find true inner happiness. And how amazing and wonderful that you now have a bigger gift and can see it that way. The gift being that your whole world changed in more areas than you knew it would. Your story gives me inspiration to make changes in my life. I didn’t realize, until I read your article, the exact reason why I have become so antisocial these past couple years…now you confirmed it for me. I gained 25-30lbs in the past couple yrs!! I didn’t realize that could change my personality so much!! It is crazy. I have poor self confidence, and all my clothes are tight so I wear comfy clothes, which makes me look like a slob and I am know I am just showing what I feel like on the inside. When I was thin, I was comfortable with myself and my body, and it showed by my outer appearance and the way I carried myself. A lot more than that even changed. I almost don’t even feel worthy to talk to some people at school (I am in Nursingschool-Im a 32yr old mom of 5) The sad part is that I was very inshape and thin, even after having the last two kids which are twins. I started gaining when I moved back to a cold climate and started going to school full time. I did alot of sitting and alot of stressing, also started a med that made me crave sweets. now I am still super busy and in school, so I sit alot for studying purposes and stress alot still. I know I need to change my eating habits and get some exercise more than anything, I just have no drive, and the more I carry on in this lifestyle, the harder it is to break the cycle.

    • Hi Nichole,

      Thanks for your comment. I’m sorry you’re feeling badly about yourself. First, try to give yourself a break — you’ve got five kids, you’re in school, and you’ve moved! You have a lot going on! If I were you, I’d get a couple of nice outfits that fit you at your current weight. This will probably help you feel less like a slob. Then, try to do little things that will help you get to the healthier lifestyle you’ve enjoyed in the past. Take your kids out for a short walk, snack on fruit instead of sweets… something that seems manageable and will give you a sense of accomplishment. Just reading your post made it clear that you’re very hardworking and worthy of all kinds of good things. I hope that you’re able to see that too and take steps to feel better about yourself!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

